A Magical Adventure For You

IMG_5805

I knit a Totoro for my friend Amanda’s birthday! He came out so perfect and wonderful that I had serious trouble letting him out of my house. The pattern is a little complicated to obtain: the Ravelry listing is for a Norwegian pattern. One is directed to contact Ravelry user “edingburg11″ for the English translation, but this is a typo; in fact the user who has translated it is edinburg11. She’s very gracious and relatively speedy about emailing you the pattern once you get in touch with her, but it might take her a day or two to get back to you, so make sure to get in touch with her in advance if you’re knitting Totoro on a deadline!

The pattern is pretty well-done and easy to use, though I used the disappearing loop cast-on for the belly since I thought that looked a lot neater than what the pattern suggested. I’m particularly pleased with the way the face came out — I crocheted tiny flat circles for the eyes, and then used french knots for the pupils, and the rest of the face embroidery worked out pretty well.

still haven’t taken pictures of my Morticia shawl, but I swear those are coming soon, as well as pictures of my current in-progress sweater! Till next time!

One thought on “A Magical Adventure For You

  1. Pingback: To New Adventures |

Leave a Reply

