Laminaria

laminaria1

My Laminaria is finished! I dropped all my other knititng projects to work on it exclusively for the past few weeks, in order to make sure that I finished it in time for my friends’ wedding in July. It’s pictured in these shots with the dress I plan to pair it with for the wedding.

laminaria3

I basically can’t rave enough about this pattern; it’s brilliantly charted, fully modular size-wise, and the weird Estonian stitches really aren’t that difficult once you get the hang of them. Don’t be put off by the stuff in the pattern about not being able to use stitch markers; if you have even a little bit of lace experience, it won’t be hard to figure out how your rows should be lining up and you really won’t need them. I ended up knitting 5 repeats of the star chart and 7 repeats of the blossom chart, for a shawl a little smaller than the “large” size, which as you can see is plenty big.

I knit this in Fleece Artist Suri Blue, after a long search for the perfect mottled gray, and I’m very happy with the color, but I don’t think I will be knitting with Alpaca again — it’s fuzzier than I’d like, and it sheds a little. I actually finished this about a week ago, but I was prevented from taking pictures of it until now because I couldn’t find my camera’s battery charger. So my blocking photos were taken on P’s new iPhone:

laminariablocking

This was my first project blocked on Knit Picks new cheap blocking squares, and as you can see, it was a little too big for them. I may decide to buy another set, but this will probably do for now — I don’t anticipate making any other shawls this huge for awhile. And it basically worked find to stick my outlying pins in the carpet and/or cardboard.

laminaria2

P says I look like the figurehead at the prow of a ship in this shot. And maybe I do. At any rate, this was fun to knit, but I’m glad to be released from the project-monogamy my deadline demanded and am now happily working on three things at once — which I will show you soon!

5 thoughts on “Laminaria

  1. This helped so much! I have plenty of yarn for the large size, but not nearly enough mojo, but the small one is a little too small. I just finished repeat #2 of star chart. So, perfect timing. Mind if I copy your number of repeats?

    Also: I went looking for photos of this thing in Ravelry because I noticed I am seeing clearly defined diagonal ‘stockinette’ rows jutting to up to the right, maybe 80degrees from horizontal, on the RIGHT section of the back of the neck. They aren’t mirrored on the LEFT section. (I mean after I turn the work upside down to where these sections will end up when I wear the thing.) Instead, I see them ALSO leaning right, at more of a 20degree angle across the work. In the beautiful photos of the 8 bazillion projects of this thing on Ravelry, it doesn’t seem to matter at all, so I’m going to ignore it. All that to say: did you see this? Did it bother you too for a while and then you accepted it? If I’m knitting it wrong, I’d like to frog it sooner than later.

    I agree with alpaca. I made a cowl out of ‘Alpaca Twist’ and it is ‘pokey’, and it is also way too warm.

    the color of your shawl is gorgeous.

    Jamie.

  2. Hi Jamie,

    Thanks for your comment! I’m glad to hear my knitting blog is helpful to others & not just self-indulgent for me. šŸ˜‰ Go ahead and “steal” my number of repeats; I think it makes a nice size! The star chart at the beginning of the shawl does indeed produce little stockinette-like ridges of the kind you describe (you can see them being especially ridge-like in my second photo), but it really doesn’t matter to the finished project. Have fun with your Laminaria; it’s a great project!

    Be well,
    Juniperjune

  3. Pingback: Welcome to Crazy Town, Population: Me « doublepointed

  4. Pingback: Rainshine |

  5. Pingback: Happy Birthday to Me |

Leave a Reply

