Terra Shrug

terrashrug1

And now back to your regularly-scheduled knitting content. Talk about instant gratification! I started this shrug maybe a week ago, and voila! That’s what knitting aran-weight yarn on size 13 needles will do for you. Also, it’s pretty small; I used maybe 220 yards total. But since I only had 300 yards on hand, that’s more or less what I was looking for. The pattern is called Gaia, and since I knit mine out of a yarn called Terra, I figured that naming this project “Terra Shrug” would work on a couple of different levels. Check out the texture of the yarn close-up:

terra3

I just can’t get enough of it; how much more earthy can you get? And it’s super soft, what with being composed of merino, baby alpaca, and silk. It was a yarn-and-pattern match made in heaven.

I followed amsknits‘ suggestion to add crochet edging to the sleeves as well as the bottom of the shrug. I cast on for the larger size, which is indicated for bust sizes 38″ – 44″, because mine is about 41″ — but I should have remembered that most of those inches are, ahem, in the front. (I knit my Whisper Cardigan, which also didn’t have a front, in the smallest size based on my back measurement, but the Gaia shrug didn’t supply back measurements.) So I pinned it together and tried it on when I got to the length indicated for the small, and it fit, so I stopped there.

terrashrug2

The extra width doesn’t seem to be a problem; if anything, I’m happy having the slightly longer sleeves that casting on for the large size gave me. So I’m pleased with it, but given the heat we seem to be in for next week, I think it’ll be a while before I get a chance to wear it. I was sweating my ass off wearing this thing for five minutes this afternoon to take these photos! Weirdly, September and October are often the hottest months in southern California; I guess it’s the Santa Ana winds.

I’m almost done with my Hamsa scarf; it’s at the point where every time I finish a repetition of the lace pattern, I try it on and say “just one more, just one more.” So any day now I’ll have that to show you, and then I’ll be off and running with the things I’ve got cued up for autumn! (Such as it is, here in California.)

3 thoughts on “Terra Shrug

  1. Hi Vanessa– please consider buying the pattern from the designer; I feel bad that I gave out too many details of the shrug’s construction in this post! I’ve edited the post so as to omit those details.

  2. Hey Erin, oops I didn’t even look at it that way, good point. I’ve actually changed the construction as I would wear this piece more if it was long-sleeved so I’m trying something else. But after casting on a few times & wondering if I had the right number of stitches to make the sleeves work, I would be more prone to buying the pattern if I decide to knit it after all. I’m still impressed by how simple & brilliant the idea is.

Leave a Reply

