Freeform Week 1

Here is my NatCroMo Freeform Crochet-along piece after 7 days of instructions have been followed. Everybody’s looks quite different since we are all using different yarns, interpreting the directions differently, placing the stitches differently, and using different numbers. I’m actually pretty pleased with how mine’s coming out; I’m trying to make it as aesthetically pleasing as possible given the restrictions. But this is not always possible — for example, for the spiral in the middle, we were specifically instructed to use our least favorite yarn from our stash. 😦 I knit a whole skirt out of that yarn waaaay back when I first started knitting, and it really did look a lot better on my monitor when I was clicking “purchase” than it did in real life when it showed up at my door. I may as well show you that skirt, while we’re at it:

Here it is, in my barren, monk-like first-year-graduate-student apartment, back before I had any material possessions to speak of. Note how my phone is just lying on the floor while charging. The skirt looks sort of plausible in this picture, but in reality it’s difficult to wear without feeling like a grade-A weirdo. Now, I have been known to attend functions where grade-A-weirdo attire is encouraged (::cough:: Burning Man ::cough::), but somehow even in those contexts this doesn’t come off the shelf very often. Variegated yarns always sound so good in theory, but rarely work out in practice — this skirt represents the first time I learned that lesson, and that’s part of why I hate this yarn so much to this very day. I hate it because it tricked me.

2 thoughts on “Freeform Week 1

Leave a Reply

