Coaster #2: Sow Thistle Square

Pattern: Crochet Stitch Motifs by Erika Knight, p. 50, “Sow Thistle Square”

Yarn: Takhi Cotton Classic

Hook: 3.25mm

This one might benefit from some blocking; it’s looking a little wonky right now. I figure I’ll block them all in a bunch (maybe by ironing them?) when I’m done. It also might be a little too holey than is ideal for a coaster, but I’m sure it’ll get the job done. I’ve been trying to choose less holey patterns, but this one called out to me: it didn’t look too difficult, and the name “Sow Thistle Square” is pretty awesome.

I’ve decided that while this project is going on, most days you’ll get a “bonus picture” to keep these posts interesting. Here is today’s:

This is a crappy cell phone picture of me at the St. Leo’s Fair, which was an important stomping ground of my youth. I don’t think I’ve been to it since I was 15 years old, and it’s just a tiny little local fair, but it was one of the more exciting things to happen around here every year when I was growing up. It’s where I cried so hard that they had to stop the ferris wheel when I was about seven years old, and where I eventually went on my first “scary” ride a few years later (probably “The Gravitron.”) This time, my friends and I were basically just there for beer and zeppolis — we weren’t going on any rides, and I certainly wasn’t planning on playing any dumb carnival games, until I saw THE MONEY BANANA. As you can see here, it is a small plush banana whose skin is inexplicably printed with large-denomination bills. I decided that I needed it because of its intense amazingness, so I bought 3 balls for a dollar and won that banana immediately. Score!

One thought on “Coaster #2: Sow Thistle Square

  1. You could always back the super holey ones with some felt since it’s such a super coaster-y material.

    THE MONEY BANANA is amazing. It belongs with you!

Leave a Reply

