Coaster #4: Russian Square

Pattern: Crochet Stitch Motifs by Erika Knight, p. 86, “Russian Square.”

Yarn: Takhi Cotton Classic

Hook: 3.25 mm

I love the way this one came out; it may be my favorite so far. The color scheme makes it look more Native American than Russian, in my opinion. The texturing is done by crocheting around the fronts and backs of the posts on certain stitches, a technique I learned when I was doing the Freeform Crochet-Along earlier this spring. I didn’t make a coaster yesterday because we had big Father’s Day things going on — my cousin Patrick who lives in China was in town with his daughter; I’d never met him, and my mom hadn’t seen him since the late 1970s. I guess that’s what happens when you move to China. Their visit was delightful, but we totally forgot to take pictures.

Your bonus picture, therefore, is just a family photo of all four coasters I’ve made so far. I had to iron this one before I showed it to you, because the crocheting-around-the-post made it really bumpy at first. So I ironed everybody, and here they are, all blocked and everything:

Hooray for pretty coasters!

Leave a Reply

