Coaster #5: Tunisia Flower

Pattern: Crochet Stitch Motifs by Erika Knight, “Tunisia Flower,” p.187

Yarn: Takhi Cotton Classic

Hook: 3.25 mm

This one was a serious pain in the butt. It took me two days, but in my defense, my crocheting time was cut into yesterday by a visit to the nature center that I used to go to as a kid (they still have an iguana! but not the same iguana) and a frisbee game. And furthermore, I had to rip out and redo several parts of this for several different reasons. The directions are confusing at a few different points, and I also changed my mind a few times about the colors. The directions tell you to turn at the end of round 5, which seemed either wrong or insane, so I just didn’t do it. And the directions for round 6 seemed to be putting the points of my petals off center, so I just ignored them and put the points in the right spot. I also added the yellow round (the original pattern was just two-colored), and I left off the last round, because it was already plenty large for a coaster. And I ironed it to make it flat.

Here is your bonus photo for today, which is not going to win any photography awards:

This is St. Marks’ Church in the East Village, home of the Poetry Project, which has been sponsoring experimental poetry for decades and decades. I was there on Monday for the memorial reading for Leslie Scalapino, one of the first poets whose work made me realize that what I wanted to do with my life was study experimental poetry — she was also one of the two poets that I wrote my undergraduate honors thesis on. The reading was great; it was very interesting to hear how other notable poets (such as Charles Bernstein, Susan Howe, and Rodrigo Toscano) interpreted Scalapino’s work, and it was heartening to feel the force of the community behind such a marginalized genre of literature.

Tomorrow, I have resolved to make a coaster that will be significantly less annoying. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

