Secrets Revealed: Baby Style

Finally I can tell you about that secret knitting I was doing back in June! It was this babywarming set for my friend Liz, who is having a baby girl in September. We’re all so excited!

This is Georgie Hallam’s Rainbow Dress pattern, which I highly recommend. The pricetag is a little steep, but the pattern is very all-inclusive and adaptable. It’s written for babies through little girl sizes, so you can get a lot of use out of it, and the construction is both ingenious and easy. Trust me, I spent a million hours looking at baby dresses, and this pattern is the winner for cuteness, easiness, and versatility.

The yarn is Bugga! by The Sanguine Gryphon and yes, it lives up to the hype. It’s super soft, super sturdy, and the dye jobs are beautiful. This colorway is “Fairy Wren,” and it seemed like the perfect thing for a little girl. I really really did not want to use pink. It’s a bit thinner than the recommended yarn for the pattern, so I knit the 9-month size hoping to end up with something more like the 6-month size, so the little one can wear this in the spring.

I had a bunch of yarn left over, so I also knit some booties:

These are the ubiquitous Saartje’s Booties. I’m guessing they’re ubiquitous because the pattern is free, they’re worked flat, and they’re super cute. But in truth, the next time I knit baby booties I think I’m going to make some knit in the round, because the seams on these came out a little wonky. This is probably because each bootie took me the length of a single feature film to knit, but that meant that both times I was doing the seaming at the end of the night when I’d had a few drinks. So it might not be the pattern’s fault. And can we all admire the OMG COMPLETELY PERFECT tiny little buttons I found? Because, OMG.

In other news, this is what I’ve been knitting on my vacation:

This is Miriam Felton’s Flutter Scarf, which I’ve been eyeing for awhile. It’s quite a bit different than the other scarves I’ve knit so far, and that made me a little anxious because this is my treasured Louet Mooi yarn, and I didn’t want to knit it into something I wouldn’t wear. It’s a little… ruffly, but I think I can deal with it. This yarn is a bamboo/buffalo/cashmere blend and kind of crazily expensive, but I picked up a skein last summer for 40% off when I was in Mendocino for a wedding and their LYS was having a huge moving sale. You can’t really tell from this picture, but it is divine — super soft, super light, and very radiant.

I have to go, because I’ve gotta get on a plane back to California. Next time we meet, I will probably have a finished Ribs & Lace tank, and hopefully it will be wearable.

5 thoughts on “Secrets Revealed: Baby Style

  1. Just saw this blog entry, and realized it’s about my famous baby girl Emily Kathryn! This is an absolutely adorable outfit. Also, it is very fine and soft unlike some other hand-knitted sweaters/blankets I received as gifts, which are so itchy I hesitate to put them on her soft baby skin. I have to remember to send along a picture of the outfit in action soon.

Leave a Reply

