Valentine

I know it’s a little early, but one of my friends reported seeing Valentine’s Day paraphernalia in the stores on December 26th this year — and at least it’s not that early. I didn’t plan this to be a V-Day piece, and I know I’ll wear it a whole lot more often than that, but when I took it off the blocking board I immediately knew what my wardrobe concept for this photoshoot would be — and what I’d be wearing on Valentine’s Day.

This is Jackie E-S’s Shallow Sideways Tri-Shawl, knit in Gaia Lace from Sanguine Gryphon in the Haemophobia colorway, which was one of their fall colors this year. It’s a 60/40 silk/mongolian cashmere blend, and it’s the most beautiful thing ever. It’s lustrous, drapey, and lovely. I knew immediately that I wanted to do something really striking and unusual with this yarn, and none of the lace patterns in my queue were quite right. With the help of Ravelry’s search engine, I found Jackie E-S’s pattern, which was totally perfect. It’s much much longer than most sideways shawls that I’ve come across so far, which means it’s very easy to wrap and tie a bunch of different ways, and it stays where you put it. (It’s a little hard to measure now that it’s off the blocking board, but I think it’s about 90 inches long.)

Speaking of which, here it is blocking. I stretched it quite a bit width-wise, to open up the lace, and not at all along the length dimension because it was already so long. The pattern is actually very easy to memorize once you get the hang of it, but heed my warning: it’s important to count and pay attention on the two rows immediately following a cable cross, because it’s easy to put too few or two many k1p1s between the lace parts at that point. I did that in two separate places and didn’t realize it until it was too late, but I figured the mistakes would be nigh undetectable in the finished object, and sure enough, it’s fine.

In fact, this bit of slinky loveliness might be my favorite FO of 2010. If you count it in 2010, that is — I finished knitting it over the holidays, but I wasn’t able to block it until I returned to California two days ago. I’ll have another post for you soon, with some shots of new WIPs as well as some shots of the NJ blizzard, and that grey scarf I teased you with last time!

5 thoughts on “Valentine

  1. This is GORGEOUS! I’m sure I say that about all of your projects but I swear it’s always true! And I love that you have your Valentine’s Day outfit picked out already. 🙂

  2. ooh, it’s gorgeous!! what a lovely scarf, it looks perfect for valentine’s day (which, considering how fast the days go by, will be here before you know it!)

  3. Pingback: Guadalupe «

  4. Pingback: Burnt Orange «

Leave a Reply

