Leaving Cardigan

I’ve finally finished my Leaving Cardigan! I started it way back in April, finished knitting it in June, and then couldn’t find the time until about a month ago to actually do the seaming and weave in the ends. But now it’s done!

This pattern, like all of Anne Hanson’s, is lovely — but it was definitely a learning experience.

  • Lesson 1: “I’ll just knit a sleeve as my gauge swatch” is a cute idea, but when you finish a whole sleeve in fingering-weight yarn and then it doesn’t block out to the right dimensions, it has NOT saved you any time. Just knit the damned 4″x4″ swatch like you’re supposed to.
  • Lesson 2: Zero ease is a bad idea when knitting a cardigan that’s going to button all the way down the front. This basically fits, but you can see it straining at the buttons over my bust, and I really should resign myself to knitting at least one size up from my actual bust measurements from now on.
  • Lesson 3: Due to my long waist, I should always always always add at least an inch or two of length to a sweater’s body. This looks fine, but it’s supposed to hang longer and I think it would  be more flattering if it actually did so.

I’m not entirely to blame for Lessons 2 and 3 — these are things I already knew, but I thought that the mythical “growing” properties of superwash yarn would make up for both the length and width problems. Unfortunately, this didn’t grow nearly as much in the blocking stage as my Leitmotif Cardigan did.

This is still pretty awesome, though. The yarn is Madelinetosh Pashmina, and after knitting two sweaters in Madelinetosh yarns I can say that I am officially an addict. Their yarns are both lovely and durable, and their dye jobs are incredible.

And have you checked out the sleeves on this thing??

I seriously considered just knitting the sleeves with the rib going all the way down to the bottom and omitting the lace pattern on the forearms because I thought it was a little busy, but I’m very happy that I decided to follow the pattern. It’s an amazing detail that really sets this apart from other sweaters.

The only real problem here is that this was meant to be a light-gray sweater — the colorway, believe it or not, is called “composition-book gray” — but as you can see, it’s entirely purple. I fell in love with its unexpected non-grayness when it arrived in the mail, but my wardrobe still needs a light-gray sweater. So at some point in the near future I’ll be starting yet another sweater!

3 thoughts on “Leaving Cardigan

  1. Pretty! I’m a sucker for Madeline Tosh too.

    Have you seen Tanis Fiber Arts? Her stuff looks like something you’d like: http://www.tanisfiberarts.com/colour.html
    I’ve only used the two fingering weight blends, but I rather adore them.

    After my slightly-traumatic first sweater, I’ve taken to modifying everything. The first sweater, I chose the size to knit based on my bust measurement (just like the directions always say), followed the pattern exactly, and it came out two sizes too big (other than the bust). Since it was seamed, it was kind of hard to tell until too late. I gave it to my mom 😛
    Now I size based on my overbust measurement and add bust darts and/or short rows to add enough extra fabric to the front.

  2. This was definitely worth all of your work and wait! So pretty. I totally agree on the sleeve detail, and thanks for your Lesson 1 pointer. If you’d sized up you’d have lost the fitted look in the lower half, which makes it dressier, so Sylvie’s method might be worth a try.

  3. Pingback: Post-Holiday Roundup |

Leave a Reply

