Natsu

My Natsu scarf is finished, and despite March’s lion-like winds Pat and I were able to get some shots of it on the way to brunch this morning.

As you may recall, this is one of two patterns that I started recently because I wanted to experiment with steeking. But Natsu turned out to not quite involve actual steeking, because the pattern recommended that you unravel the fringe section and block the fringe straight before cutting it. Proper steeking, I believe, is when you cut into your knitting while it is still knit up — my Bad Oyster scarf will involve this and there will be pictures, I swear.

Since there was no “real” steeking, the scariest part of this process was the unraveling of the stockinette section that was turning into fringe — I may have forgotten to twist one of the edge stitches, which would have resulted in a whole row of the scarf starting to unravel. Here’s a shot from the middle of that process:

Are you hyperventilating a little bit? Because I was. But it turned out okay!

The pattern didn’t give any specific suggestions for how to block this thing while it was still in the round, but this is what I came up with:

I folded it in half, making sure to line up the two ends, and I used blocking wires on all four sides. This pulled the fringe straight, and had the added benefit of providing a nice straight line for cutting the fringe apart once it dried.

Despite its being not quite as dramatic as a “real” steek, Pat was committed to documenting the cutting process. Here the cutting is about to begin — and I like that you can see our cheery kitchen in the background.

And just because Pat took so many of them, here’s a close-up shot of actual fringe-cutting:

Once this was done, the laborious process of knotting the fringe into this cool diamond-pattern began:

The knotting took me an entire hour, which was a bummer, but the knotted fringe is half of why I liked this pattern in the first place!

And here I am at brunch. The yarn is Sundara’s Fingering Silky Merino in “Monet’s Basilica,” a limited-edition colorway that I’m pretty sure you can’t get anymore. But I highly recommend the yarn, and Sundara always has some gorgeous colors available. The pattern was lovely, and contains detailed instructions for handling the fringe, but I do think the sizing is a little screwy. I ended up casting on for the wrap size and just knitting to the scarf width, because the scarf length seemed way too short. I also have much more yarn left over than the pattern indicated I would, so I’m scheming about maybe knitting some fingerless gloves with the leftovers!

3 thoughts on “Natsu

  1. I definitely would have been scared to do this process! And I would have been very impatient with knotting the fringe at the end. Well done! It looks fantastic 🙂

Leave a Reply

